Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 7th, 2008

Anne Lamott On God

anne.jpg

“You can safely assume that you’ve created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.” Anne Lamott

That’s just funny. (ht)

Read Full Post »

bren2.jpg

I had the distinct pleasure of seeing Brennan Manning, the original ragamuffin himself, at my alma mater, William Jessup University. I love what Brennan is doing. He simply focuses on restoring God’s image. He sees a God who is much more interested in being a Father than a God. He spent a considerable amount of time focusing on the Lord’s prayer which begins with, “Our Father…” This shattered any preconceived notions of a removed God and began to draw people back into relationship.

He spoke for almost two hours with a ten minutes intermission for rest. I could see that his age was catching up to him. I took a picture with him and he said no words to me other than yes to my request. Much love to the man who reminds me that our Father is deeply interested in loving us. The question is will we allow him to.

PS: My friend Jeromy, who went with me has some great quotes at his site.

bren1.jpg

bren3.jpg

Read Full Post »